Yoga Teacher Training Certification Courses
  • yoga teacher training courses

    Yoga Alliance Certified Teacher Training Courses

    Become a certified Yoga teacher with our 200 hours residential Yoga Alliance accredited teacher trainings...

    Find out more »
  • yoga ashram

    Study at Yoga Ashram in India

    Learn & experience true yogic lifestyle at traditional Yoga ashram in India, the birth place of Yoga...

    Find out more »
  • yoga franchise

    Open Your Own Yoga School

    With our Yoga franchise program you can realize your dream of having your own yoga studio...

    Find out more »
  • hatha yoga teacher training europe

    Hatha Yoga Teacher Training in Europe

    Become a yoga teacher in Europe with our internationally accredited Yoga instructor certification...

    Find out more »
  • become a yoga teacher

    Become a Certified Yoga Teacher

    Our courses are accredited by Yoga Alliance & all major Yoga federations. The certification enables you to teach worldwide...

    Find out more »

"This teacher training course is tailored for students who are serious about teaching yoga.....
Read more

"The Arhanta yoga teacher training was an intense study over the course of 4 weeks.....
Read more

"Amazing experience!! This training is not for those people who only want to do asanas! .....
Read more

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali – Sutra 7.

Sutra 7. || Pratyakshanumanagamah Pramanani ||

Pratyaksha = direct perception

Anumana = assumption

Agama = holy scriptures

Pramanani = valid source of right knowledge

“Sources of knowledge are direct perception, assumption out of experience and scriptures (reliable source)”

Sage Patanjali explains that we gather knowledge through three sources, these sources are direct perception which is seeing something by yourself or by coming in direct contact with something, for example you see the smoke you believe there is smoke, then you assume there must be fire because in your past experience you have seen that fire causes smoke. Sometimes there is knowledge is without direct perception and without assumption, we know something because we have read or heard it by a reliable source, for example a child drinks the milk  and knows that the milk has come from a cow, though he has not seen the cow giving milk he believes that because his mother tell him so and in this case his mother is a reliable source, he trusts his mother.

Now direct perception means direct contact, or self experience. Jesus also  said : “Someone else’s truth can not be your truth until you experience it yourselves”. Similarly assumption without prior experience is plain assumption, it can be based on ego, fear or desire. So one should only assume if he has prior experience through direct contact before.

Knowledge from scriptures or an unverified source can be dangerous. This kind of knowledge should only be considered true if the scripture or the source has been proved reliable by personal experience.

Thus a wise man does not believes anything unless the information is from personal experience, assumption based on prior experience or a reliable source.


Author information:

Yogi Ram teaches Yoga teacher training in India at Arhanta Yoga Ashram.



Read More

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali – Sutra 6.

Sutra 6. || Pramana Viparyaya Vikalpa Nidra Smrtayah ||

Pramana = right knowledge

Viparyaya= misconception

Vikalpa= verbal delusions

Nidra= sleep

Smritayah = memory

Here sage Patanjali names the five movements of mind which create attachement or pain.

The detailed description of these movements is given in upcoming sutras.

Read More

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali – Sutra 5.

Sutra 5. Vrittayah Panchatayyah Klishta Aklishtah

Vrittayah – movements of mind

Panchatayyaha – Five kinds

Klishta – painful

Aklishtah – painless

Five kinds of movements of mind which are either painful or painless.

Here Patanjali speaks about classification of the movements of mind. He says that there are five kinds of movements which either bring us pain or do not disturb our peace. (more…)

Read More

Yoga Sutra of Patanjali – Sutra 4.

Sutra 4. Vritti Sarupyam Itratra

Vritti – Movements of mind

Sarupyam – with its forms

Itratra – other times

Movements of mind let the self distract with its form at the other times (When it is not in balance).

In this sutra Patanjali continues to emphasize how an attached mind can not see the true nature of the self . (more…)

Read More

Yoga Sutra of Patanjali – Sutra 3.

Sutra 3. Tada Drishthuhu Swarupeavasthanam

Tada = then

Drishthuhu = the observer

Swarupe = own nature

Avasthanam = the state

Then the observer sees the state of its own nature

Here Patanjali explains that after a diligent yoga practice the practitioner is able to see its true nature. (more…)

Read More

Yoga Sutra of Patanjali – Sutra 2.

Sutra 2. Yogah Chitta Vritti Nirodhaha

Yogah = Yoga

Chitta = Mind

Vritti = Movements

Nirodaha = stops

Yoga stops the movements of the mind

This is an important sutra. Here Patanjali explains the goal of the practice of Yoga. Patanjali says that steady practice of Yoga results in control over the movements of the mind. (more…)

Read More

Yoga Sutras of Patanjali – Sutra 1.

Sutra 1. Atha Yoganushasanam

Atha = Now

Yoga = Yoga

Anushasanam = Order / Discipline

Now the order of Yoga practice is set,

Being the first sutra, here Patanjali speaks of the right order of Yoga Practice which is about to begin. It is of great importance that the order of prinicples is correct before a student starts to practice them.

Read More

Unity and Diversity among Jains

Unity and Diversity among Yogis

Mahavir-SwamiThe Jainism was also known as Shraman Dharma (austerity) and Nirgranth (detachment) Dharma. It is not an offshoot of any other religion but is an independent religion recognized by these various names during different time periods. Propounders of Jainism in ancient times were also knows as:

Shraman (Monk) : One who believes in equality of all living beings, practices Non-Violence, and elevates one’s Soul by self-effort.

Read More

Ashtanga Yoga ( Eight limbs of Raja Yoga)

Yoga consists of 8 parts also known as Ashtanga Yoga ( Eight limbs of Raja Yoga):

1. Non – Possessiveness (Aparigarha)
Balancing our needs and desires, while staying detached from possessions

This is one of the three core practices. It asks for minimizing accumulation of possessions and personal enjoyment. The “want and desires” must be reduced and kept in check as much as possible in thoughts, words, and actions. With the limited resources on this planet, we must be aware of the consequences of our possessiveness. Unchecked possessiveness can lead to great direct harm to oneself, family, society, and the environment.

Relation to Non-Violence : A person obsessed with hoarding purchasing and consuming may turn to laying, cheating, stealing, and violence to satisfy this habit.

Read More

Namokar Mantra : Maha Mantra

Mantras are an essential part of Bhakti Yoga. Namokar Mantrra is an ancient and very powerful mantra.

Namo Arihantanam – I bow to Arihantas.

I bow to the Arihantas (Perfect Human Souls) because they have achieved absolute truth and devote themselves to the uplifting of life on earth. these perfect souls have reached enlightenment by overcoming inner enemies and weakness, have attained infinite knowledge, infinite bliss, and showed us the path that brings an end to the cycle of birth and death.

Namo Sidhanam – I bow to siddhas I bow to the Siddhas (Liberated Souls) because they possess infinite perception, knowledge, and bless. Siddhas have attained the state of perfection and immortality by liberating themselves of all Karmas.

Read More

See for yourself what it is like.

Welcome to our Yoga Blog. You are welcome to request explanations of any yoga related topic of your choice on this blog.

Go to our Video channel

Ask us anything on Facebook

Copyright © 2012 Arhanta Yoga International ®