Aug 26

Svadhishthana Chakra: All You Need to Know about the Sacral Chakra

Svadhishthana Chakra - Sacral Chakra Infographic

Our bodies are constantly communicating with the energies surrounding us. Every chakra preserves and channels pranic energy in our astral (energy) body and influences the balance in our physical body. The Sacral Chakra or Svadhishthana Chakra is the second energy center among the 7 vital chakras. This chakra’s location can be best described as being situated in the lower abdomen, four fingerbreadths below the navel.

Svadhishthana means “dwelling place of the Self”, supporting personal expansion and exploration of sexuality, desires, and creativity.

The Sacral Chakra is associated with the bladder, kidneys, and reproductive organs. The element of water represents flow and flexibility. This energy assists in letting go, accepting change, and transformation in life. The color of orange is considered to induce creativity and stimulate pleasure. The seed mantra (beej mantra) of Svadhishthana Chakra is Vam.

The Characteristics of the Svadhishthana Chakra

The flow of the water element

Within the water element, there is an immense power of flow. This energy has to be regulated to avoid any destructive consequences. When the Sacral Chakra is in balance, our emotions flow through us without any judgments. Recognizing these emotions enhances our ability to understand deeply and express our desires. This restores balance and harmony.

Balanced energy of the orange color

The association with the orange color is symbolic of the rising consciousness just like a sunrise. Orange is the color of activity and purity. It is in this chakra that we design the life we want. The qualities that this color unfolds are joy, faith, self-confidence, and balanced energy.

The sexual energy of the Sacral Chakra

Svadhishthana Chakra enables us to shape our desires. As the center of passion, the Sacral Chakra awakens the power of creation. This allows a person to discover the power of choice and create intimate relationships. Motivated by pleasure, Sacral Chakra promotes emotional well-being. It plays an active role in our sexuality and the expression of our emotional needs and desires.

Emotional intimacy and relationships

Svadhishthana Chakra is centered on personal identity and how it responds to the seductive forces of the physical world. When the second chakra is unbalanced it causes emotionally disturbed, irritable, lacking creativity, and obsessed with sexual thoughts. A balanced Sacral Chakra has the ability to take risks and experience positivity and compassion.

Balancing the Second Chakra

When the Sacral Chakra is imbalanced, it can make you feel emotionally and physically weak. Depression, being overly sensitive, experiencing anxiety can all be signs of disturbed energy. The fear of losing control in a relationship with compulsive or obsessive behavior is a sign of an unbalanced Sacral Chakra. It also affects the connection to physical things like work and career.

The common health problems from an imbalanced Sacral Chakra are:

  • Chronic lower back pain
  • Arthritis
  • Genital or sexual problems
  • Hip issues
  • Anemia
  • Joint problems
  • Low energy
  • Spleen and kidney issues
  • Premenstrual Syndrome
Yoga Philosophy
Yoga Philosophy

Signs of an overactive Sacral Chakra

An overactive Sacral Chakra means distributing too much energy throughout the body. Since Sacral Chakra governs emotions, overactive energy creates an overwhelming feeling. Experiencing emotions more deeply and extreme mood swings indicate a hypersensitive nature. The feeling of dissatisfaction with life can bring addictive behaviors because of constantly struggling to fulfill yourself with external things.

Signs of an underactive Sacral Chakra

An underactive Sacral Chakra can affect the complete physical and mental wellbeing. When the Sacral Chakra is blocked, feelings of lack of control ranging from uncertainty to an inability to cope with life’s changes permeate. The path to freely express desires also hinders artistic abilities. Also, being dependent or co-dependent on other people creates a psychological imbalance causing detachment from the self.

Symptoms of an underactive Sacral Chakra include:

  • Fear of pleasure
  • Lack of creativity
  • Fatigue
  • Lack of desire
  • Insecurity
  • Detachment
  • Low libido

Healing Sacral Chakra imbalance

There are simple ways to restore or realign the balance of chakras. Chakra healing brings a harmonious flow of energy throughout the body. Here are some of the ways to balance your Sacral Chakra:

Affirmations – are a positive way to heal negative programming that can be embedded in the subconscious. If there is negative programming present, then it is in itself the cause of chakra imbalances. Affirmations can help to reprogram the subconscious with a positive mindset and raise energy vibrations. Some affirmations that help alleviate Sacral Chakra include:

    • I am passionate.
    • I am a creative being.
    •  have boundaries that protect me.

Connect with Water – The Sacral Chakra is associated with the water element as well as the flow. Connecting with water, such as a lake, river, helps promote balance in the Svadhishthana Chakra. Taking a shower or a warm bath helps regulate emotions.

Meditation – Meditation plays a vital role in balancing and opening chakras. Chakra meditation techniques are very similar to general meditation techniques. Meditation helps in focusing on the positive and discarding negative thought patterns.

Yoga poses for Svadhishthana Chakra stimulation and balance

    • Kakasana | Crow Pose

Kakasana brings mental balance, focus, and improves strength in the wrists and arms. Regular practice of this yoga asana stimulates the Sacral Chakra, increasing core awareness, and removing fatigue.

    • Trikonasana | Triangle Pose

This yoga pose provides an effective stretch to the spine. Trikonasana stimulates the liver and spleen. Along with realigning the spine, the Triangle Pose also increases blood flow and tones abdominal and back muscles.


The Svadhishthana Chakra or Sacral Chakra symbolizes creative potential, the ability to harbor fulfilling relationships, as well as our sexual energy. Suppressing such vital energy or obsessing over negative thoughts and patterns cause blockages. This chakra releases a person from controlling behavior and fear of abandonment. Restoring balance to the Sacral Chakra creates an empowered and confident individual.

About the Author

Ram JainRam Jain (E-RYT 500) is a renowned yoga teacher from India and the Director of Arhanta Yoga Ashrams in India and The Netherlands. He has been teaching since 1998 and he is teaching yoga teacher training courses since 2009. In the past 10 years, he has trained over 4000 yoga teachers. Ram is also the creator of several online education courses, such as the 50 hours Online Yin Yoga course, the online Yoga Philosophy course, and the online Ayurveda course. Born and raised in India, his yoga education started from the age of 8 years as part of his school education. Over the period he has studied yoga and yogic philosophy in-depth from various reputed teachers.

Ram Jain is also the author of the internationally acclaimed book that introduces yoga asana practice based on the Chakra system: Hatha Yoga For Teachers & Practitioners: A Comprehensive Guide to Holistic Sequencing.

How Do Yoga Philosophy Principles Apply to Our Modern Lives?

Get access to a series of 6 webinars with Ram Jain – The 6 Pillars of a Happy Life in Light of Yoga Philosophy 

When you join our mailing list