Anahata Chakra - Heart Chakra: Self-Realization through Love | Arhanta Blog
Sep 16

Anahata Chakra – Heart Chakra: Self-Realization through Love

Heart Chakra - Anahata Chakra Chart

Anahata Chakra is the most influential energy center out of the 7 chakras. Exploring divinity through pure love inspires this fourth chakra. Opening the channels of heart in order to receive and give freely is brought by our Heart Chakra.

In Sanskrit, Anahata means “unstruck” or “unbeaten”. This signifies an impartial and infinite love allowing a deeper understanding of self and others. It is located in the region of the heart, in the center of the chest. It invites a person to meditate on the different levels of relationship experiences with an open heart.

The color of Anahata Chakra is green. The corresponding element is Air that represents freedom and expansion. This chakra promotes a consciousness that develops boundless compassion. The Mantra of the Anahata Chakra is ‘yam’. It means to let go, to liberate, to give.

The Characteristics of Anahata Chakra

The life-giving element of air

The element of Anahata Chakra or Heart Chakra is the Air or Vayu. The Air symbolizes freedom of expansion and breadth. A heart that is absolutely willing to give without restriction. Vayu is connected physically to the sense of touch and emotional feelings. When the heart is open, a person feels optimistic, friendly, and motivated to believe in themselves. Building fulfilling relationships become easier when the Heart Chakra balanced, as we become more compassionate and understanding towards others.

The renewing element of green color

The green color of the Anahata Chakra represents growth and renewed healthy relationships. The color green is associated with nature, freshness, and tenderness. It is a healing and restful color for the human eye. Green suggests stability and endurance. Serenity, calmness, balance, and compassion for yourself, and others are the themes of Heart Chakra.

Signs of a Blocked Heart Chakra

Issues with the energy flow in the Heart Chakra can make us feel lonely, isolated, and unable to connect. This is because when we are wounded and feel stuck in the past it leads to anxiety. A person may be scared to share and trust any relationship. Any resolved disappointment from childhood may affect our behavior as an adult. Any of the below-mentioned symptoms indicates that the Heart Chakra requires rebalance and healing.

  • Fear of rejection
  • Loss of trust in a committed relationship
  • Issues giving and receiving affection
  • Over dependency in a relationship
  • Distant behavior with people who care
  • Tough and unemotional appearance while feeling vulnerable
  • Physical symptoms such as heart palpitation, poor blood circulation, heart pain, angina, or even problems like Asthma.
Yoga Philosophy
Yoga Philosophy

Balancing the Heart Chakra

When the heart chakra opens, you’ll feel an abundance of empathy, compassion, and love. This translates not just towards others but also to oneself. A balanced chakra allows people to be who they are, instead of attempting to dismiss or change according to external expectations. A person with an open Heart Chakra develops trust in themself and respects others. Here are some of the ways to unblock the Heart Chakra.

Seed Mantra Meditation

Meditation can help to restore proper energy flow to the Heart Chakra. Meditation is a deeply personal experience that clears the path to experience peace within. It resolves the various anxious thoughts that bring imbalance in life.

The mantra associated with Anahata Chakra is YAM. It is considered to be the seed or beej of the heart depicted with the Heart Chakra symbolism. Chanting this mantra heals both the physical and the spiritual heart center. It also makes a person more open to experience unconditional love and compassion.

Sit cross-legged and take deep breaths. Focus on the Heart Chakra and start changing YAM. Imagine the chakra opening with the energy flowing throughout the body. The vibrations of the chanting YAM produces an overflow of positive feelings.

Daily affirmations build confidence

Affirmations – can help to increase the positive energy associated with the Heart Chakra. Keeping a journal of gratitude helps in acknowledging the gifts of the present moment. Some examples of positive heart affirmations include:

  • I deeply and completely love and accept myself.
  • I am wanted and loved.
  • My heart is open to love.
  • I forgive myself.
  • I live in a state of grace and gratefulness.

Pranayama – Breathing exercises

The fourth chakra element is air so breathwork is a gateway to opening your heart chakra. One of the best breathwork techniques that not only balances the right and left brain hemispheres but also opens the heart is Anulom Vilom. Practicing Anulom Vilom frequently brings calmness to both body and mind.

Green diet for balancing energy

 The predominant color of Anahata Chakra is green. Eating foods of the same color as the chakra you are trying to heal can balance the energy flow around that area. The foods that help restore the balance are – spinach, kale, broccoli, matcha, green apples, green tea, cucumbers, etc.  Green vegetables are also recommended by expert nutritionists for a healthy body and mind.

Practicing Forgiveness

When we have experienced loss and isolation, it can make us judgmental and jealous. Making an effort to practice forgiveness might seem a very difficult task. Not able to forget the past resentments and anger only stops us from moving forward into the future happiness. Talking to a close friend or meeting a professional counselor clears the mind and guides you through inner growth and peace.


The energy that the Heart Chakra manifests has a deep impact on our personality. A meaningful and balanced life can be achieved when our Heart Chakra is in balance.

Maintaining a balanced Heart Chakra brings knowledge of the Self, which helps develop a strong relationship with others.

About the Author

Ram JainRam Jain (E-RYT 500) is a renowned yoga teacher from India and the Director of Arhanta Yoga Ashrams in India and The Netherlands. He has been teaching since 1998 and he is teaching yoga teacher training courses since 2009. In the past 10 years, he has trained over 4000 yoga teachers. Ram is also the creator of several online education courses, such as the 50 hours Online Yin Yoga course, the online Yoga Philosophy course, and the online Ayurveda course. Born and raised in India, his yoga education started from the age of 8 years as part of his school education. Over the period he has studied yoga and yogic philosophy in-depth from various reputed teachers.

Ram Jain is also the author of the internationally acclaimed book: Hatha Yoga For Teachers & Practitioners: A Comprehensive Guide to Holistic Sequencing